Kathy Peabody

What is your job title, and what does that position entail?
My title is Cost Accountant, and I guess you could say my position is really the Systems and Assemblies Customer Services Rep. – from ordering materials for Engineered Services to working with all the financial aspects of our assembled projects.

How long have you worked at Olympus, where did you come from?
I have been with Olympus since January 2013, having come from a busy wine distributor and previously several well-known Oregon microbreweries.

Can you tell us a little about your background and how it helps you in this position?
My many years in procurement and accounting have been fun and quite rewarding. I have been blessed with a lot of variety in my work and have had fun doing things from setting up a games arcade holiday party to finding and parading a goat complete with coat for a new beer promotion. I love the opportunity to find new adventures at work and Olympus Controls is a great place for a variety of big adventures.

What are some key lessons you have taken from your career thus far?
During my many years in the business world I have learned a lot of different ways to function even doing essentially the same job. Change is inevitable and the only way for businesses to prosper, so roll with it. Welcoming new opportunities and keeping an open mind are key in this ever-changing business world. New experiences are what keep things fun and interesting.

What do you like best about working at Olympus?
My favorite kind of place to work is in a “family” like environment, and Olympus is exactly that. Everyone is super cooperative, friendly, and yet professional about all the work we have to do. It is easy to thrive in this type of environment, while working with such high quality “friends.”

What was your first job ever?
When I was ten, I babysat a lot and delivered a weekly newspaper in order to earn money for our family trip to Europe. We enjoyed camping throughout Europe and I am anxious to re-visit many of those countries as an “adult.”

Describe some of your hobbies – what do you like to do outside of work?
I love to go to the beach and dig razor clams and socialize. And, my hobbies are spending time with my son – bowling, tennis, disc golf, watching baseball and gardening.